The Salt Box Museum, formerly called the Garrison/Dickinson/Genung House, has an interesting history unto itself. However, today it is a treasure trove of fascinating artifacts and memorabilia, some dating back to before the American Revolution. Our docents stand ready enlighten visitors of all ages about the artifacts and history of New Providence.
The museum itself is a combination of two houses constructed at different times and in different places. The east half of the house (on the left as you enter) was probably built early in the 19th century and moved to its site across from it present location in the mid-1800’s by Augustus Garrison, sexton of the Presbyterian Church. The west, somewhat newer, side was moved from it original site and joined to the east half and the saltbox shape constructed. In 1967, the entire house was moved across Springfield Ave to its present location.
The museum is located at 1350 Springfield Avenue, near the center of New Providence. Appointments can be made by calling 908-665-1034.
Admission is free.